Property Buying Guide
  Didim Google Map
  Weather Station
  FUN
  Arcade Games
  Daily Crossword
  Jen's Chat Room
  Lira Exchange Rates
Old 27th February 2015, 16:18   #1 (permalink)

clarekozzy is on a distinguished road
Smile Location recommendations

My husband (turkish) and I (english) have been married for 6 years and have 4 wonderful children. We are settled in the UK but it has always been our plan to spend a year or two in Turkey while the children are primary school aged so they can benefit from and learn about the culture and language/being schooled in the turkish system. I Want them to be able to function in both countries.

I have read mixed reviews about the turkish schooling system and while ofcourse i care deeply about my children's academic progress I also recognise learning turkish and having a cultural understanding while they are young is of great benefit to them in their adult lives. I am a primary school teacher and plan to time this move so that I can help plug any gaps. I ultimately want them to be happy wherever they are schooled.

My question to you all is whether you know of a place we could focus our search. My husband's family mostly live in Batman which is an interesting place but not suitable for the kind of experience we are looking for. We have close family in Icemeler and know Marmaris extremely well. As we will be staying a year (two if things go well) I wonder if there's anywhere similar to Marmaris that perhaps doesn't Turn into a ghost town during the winter months. We don't mind living (we would be buying somewhere for this adventure then keeping it as a long term rental) on the outskirts / in a village even. We hope to find a 'value for money' property with schools nearby and a touristy part frequented by english people so that my husband can work in a restaurant the summer.

So if you can recommend anywhere I can research further I would be very grateful.

Many thanks
Clare