Property Buying Guide
  Didim Google Map
  Weather Station
  FUN
  Arcade Games
  Daily Crossword
  Jen's Chat Room
  Lira Exchange Rates

Go Back   Turkish Living Forums > Turkish Property Forum > Buying property in Turkey & North Cyprus

Post New Thread  Reply

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th June 2014, 18:08   #1 (permalink)

AndyIST is on a distinguished road
Advice required on buying property in Istanbul

Hi all

I’m a real newbie to such related matters and with pratically zero experience with buying property and the Turkish mortgage system, there’s quite a few points I’m still unsure about that I’m hoping you knowledgeable lot can help me with.

My wife and I have been renting for the last couple of years in Istanbul. We’re now looking to move to be closer to her work and we’re considering buying. I’ve tried my best to search the forums and other sources but still overwhelmed.

My wife is Turkish and I’m from the UK. She is in full time employment. My employment situation is a little tricky as I do contract work remotely for a UK company who pay into my UK bank account. I’m on a residence permit here.

The property we’ve seen is an apartment in an off-plan site (the Turkish ‘site’) due to be completed next Spring. The site is being built by a large reputable company who have built many other sites throughout Istanbul. They informed us that they require a 20% downpayment on the property.

We're going to try to get an appointment with Denizbank to discuss things but if anyone could offer some advice/opinions on the below I'd be very grateful.

- In our situaton, how would we go about purchasing property in Turkey?
- What generally happens to the downpayment that is made? How is it protected should there be any unforeseen issues with completing the site?
- When would we become the legal owners of the property?
- Do off-plan properties generally shoot up in price after completion? Pretty ambigious question I guess.