FORUM
  Home
  Forums
  Articles
  Journals
  Forum Rules
  Register
  LINKS
  Property Rentals
  Cheap Flights
  Last Minute Deals
  Weather Station
  TLF Shop
  TLF Fund
  Egyptian Living Forum
  FUN
  Arcade Games
  Photo Gallery
  Radio/TV
  JukeBox
  Jen's Chat Room

Go Back   Turkish Living Forums > Turkish Property Forum > Rental Properties
User Name
Password
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st February 2006, 03:12   #1
jo2beans
Member
 
jo2beans's Avatar
Possible Scam

I have received an enquiry that is probably yet another scam that is going around, so all owners that rent out their properties please be careful. This is the message I had sent to me. I have removed telephone number and email details.

Our name: henric coles
Our email: XXXXXXXX@yahoo.com
Our telephone: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Requesting availability arriving on 1 Mar 2006 and leaving on 21 Mar 2006



hello, i will like the apartment for my uncle who stays in africa nigeria coming
on business trip. he will like to pay with cheques/bankdraft and will like you
to deduct the cost of staying for just three weeks and all other allowances and
send back the remaining fund to the issuer of the cheque. well you can call me
on XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX and lets complete transaction.

Jo
jo2beans is offline   Reply With Quote
 Sponsored Links    
Old 1st February 2006, 09:11   #2
1larry3
Member
Re: Possible Scam

yes it is a scam a Similar one was reported in a computer magazine in which they were asking bands,singers to do a gig and sending them cheques for £3000.when they got to the venue it would be closed,so they would email the guy(in nigeria) he would say sorry and tell you to take a £1000 expenses out of the £3000 cheque and send him back a cheque for £2000 which if you did he would express your cheque through, get the money and by the time his cheque for £3000 had gone to the bank and bounced there would be nothing there
and alot of people fell for it

Last edited by 1larry3 : 29th May 2006 at 19:04.
1larry3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 Sponsored Links    
Old 1st February 2006, 09:19   #3
tonytg
Wishing on a star
 
tonytg's Avatar
Re: Possible Scam

It is definetly a scam.I have heard of many similar versions which all have the same premise which you have already outlined.
tonytg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2006, 12:59   #4
lorraine
Non Active Member
 
lorraine's Avatar
Re: Possible Scam

If I receive anything like this I send it to FraudWatch This is also a good site for researching current internet fraud. If you send the email recieved to this site they deal with it.

Also member Ms Who started a thread on Nigerian Fraudsters Here
lorraine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2006, 20:38   #5
Martyn
Senior Member
 
Martyn's Avatar
Re: Possible Scam

Heard of this being used on Ebay.

My wife has just had her identity stolen and mobiles phones got through O2, Vodaphone, T-Mobile plus phone insurances set up through a bank account in her name with our address.

There is an independant company(not for profit) set up to stop this happening.

Its at www.cifas.org.uk. I registered both of us yesterday.
Martyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2006, 22:01   #6
simonandlozzie
Member
Re: Possible Scam

Yes we had the same when we were selling our Mercedes. We informed the Fraud dept at the bank but they were already aware of this scam. So beware, it's not just cars but the housing market now!
simonandlozzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2006, 07:33   #7
Bryan Sargent
Non Active Member
 
Bryan Sargent's Avatar
Re: Possible Scam

i say,
mercedes eh?
Bryan Sargent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2006, 08:16   #8
tonytg
Wishing on a star
 
tonytg's Avatar
Re: Possible Scam

Could have been Lamborgini, now that would be flash (and a target for the scammers !)
tonytg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2006, 09:38   #9
Ms Who
aka Kym Ciftci
 
Ms Who's Avatar
Re: Possible Scam

Accuse me of discrimation if you like but believe me, anything from anyone nigerian is a scam. There are also similar fraud rings from Russia as well.
Ms Who is offline   Reply With Quote
 Sponsored Links
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beware this scam email westonalan The Turkish Living Times 5 4th September 2006 23:59
Possible Scam jo2beans Rental Properties 25 23rd July 2006 11:44
Divorce Scam andy chapman Clean Jokes 0 3rd May 2006 22:33




 
 
 
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:20.
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0
TurkishLiving.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120